Break on Through: New Moon in Aries

Are you feeling stuck? Like you want to move ahead and birth something new, but it’s as if an invisible force is holding you back? Well there is good reason. Four of the five true planets are retrograde: Saturn, Jupiter, Mars and Mercury. Retrograde periods are a time to go deeper with the energy of that planet, to review, resolve and renew. At the same time, on May 6, 2016, we have a New Moon in Aries, a sign that is all about creation, action and initiative, giving you an amazing opportunity to break through on an idea, a project or emotional pattern.

Retrograde Times Four

A retrograde planet looks like it is moving backwards from the earth’s perspective, but in actuality it is moving forward in its usual direction. A planet becomes retrograde when it is very close to the earth. This gives it added strength, which can be beneficial in some situations and challenging in others.

Saturn has been retrograde since March 25, 2016 and will stay retrograde until August 13, 2016. Saturn is the planet of equanimity, self-discipline, perseverance and the highest forms of spiritual responsibility. However, until we master these qualities of Saturn, we tend experience his more challenging side: delays, frustration, resistance and even cruelty. During this retrograde period it is a great time to cultivate the positive qualities of Saturn. You can do this by asking yourself such questions as “How can I cultivate wisdom born from equanimity and detachment? or “ How can I develop more self-discipline and consistency? Keep asking yourself these questions when ever fear or doubt comes into your mind.

Mars has been retrograde since April 16, 2016 and will stay retrograde until June 30, 2016 . Mars is the planet of power, energy and desire. Mars likes to take action. During this time you may feel thwarted and low in vitality and if you can’t seem to move forward on your ambitions. During this retrograde period the energy of Mars turns inward. It is a time of thinking before acting. A time to deeply consider the best action to take on a significant aspect of your life, whether it be in the area of relationship or career. It is a time of contemplation and patience. Once Mars turns direct it will be time to take action on your desire.

Jupiter has been retrograde since January 7, 2016 and is poised to go direct very soon on May 9, 2016. During this time you may have been reflecting on your spiritual and philosophical beliefs. You may have been reevaluating your purpose and what brings you happiness. You may have gone deeper with a body of knowledge and made it your own. Now that Jupiter is about to go direct, it is the time to take that knowledge, new purpose and new belief system out into the world and put them into action. It is a time of expansion and abundance.

Mercury turned retrograde on April 28, 2016 and goes direct on May 22, 2016. Mercury is the planet of communication, both written and verbal. He is also the planet of skills and intellect. You may experience a variety of communication break downs both on the physical level, such as internet, computers and appointments, as well as communication with friends, family and your partner. It’s a good time to make amends on any misunderstandings, to forgive and forget. It is a time to take a break from information gathering and instead hone the skills that you already have.

The New Moon in Aries

As mentioned above, the upcoming New Moon on May 6 will take place in the sign of Aries, a fire sign that represents self, independence and leadership. It is the first sign of the zodiac and embodies immense force, radical boldness and refreshing fearlessness. In addition, this part of Aries or the nakshatra that the New Moon will fall is Bharani, a constellation symbolized by the female sexual organ (yoni) and ruled over by the deity Yama, the god of death and the king of justice. This nakshatra is no light weight, and deals with the stuff of life. It is linked to the female shakti of creativity and birth and simultaneously linked to the end of life through Yama. For when giving birth to a novel idea, project, or a new business something must be cut away to make room for the new. During this New Moon, Venus and Mercury will also be in Aries, further endowing this cycle with the power of love, beauty, creativity, curiosity and the intense lust for life.

Take advantage of this time and flow with the energy of Bharani. Surrender to your creativity and give birth to your most cherished ideas. The creative force is a transformative life affirming energy that has the power to heal, give purpose, passion and rebirth.

With love,


Featured Posts
Recent Posts